CASE NUMBER: CM20-232

VIRGINIA: IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF SHENANDOAH COUNTY

IN RE: DEFERRED PAYMENT AGREEMENT GUIDELINES AND PROCEDURES
FOR COURT COSTS, FINES AND RESTITUTION

ORDER

Pursuant to the requirements of Virginia Code §19.2-349, §19.2-354 and §19.2-354.1
and Amended Supreme Court Rule 1:24 effective July 1, 2017:

A. The following are the payment guidelines for the total costs and fines
(collectively, the Costs) and restitution in all cases assessed by this Court
against the defendant:

1) Once a defendant is convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in the Circuit
Court, costs will be assessed against the defendant. All court costs are
assessed in accordance with the Code of Virginia.

a. A judgment will be automatically entered on the date of sentencing
unless fines and costs are paid in full that day.

b. [f the defendant is not in court to receive notice of costs, the Clerk
will mail to the defendant, in a timely manner following the
defendant’s trial and/or sentencing hearing:

i. A Notice of Fines and Costs (the Notice) and
ii. A copy of this Order ‘

c. Fines, costs, and restitution are due within 30-days of sentencing

unless otherwise specified in a Court Order.

2) If a defendant is unable to pay the Costs in full within 30 days of
conviction (or other disposition of the case authorized by law), orif a
defendant is incarcerated, within 30 days after the defendant’s release
from incarceration, the defendant must elect one of the following three (3)
options for a payment agreement:

a. Deferred Payment Agreement: Defendant agrees to pay the full
amount of the fines, costs and/or restitution by the end of the
stated terms with no monthly amount required.

b. Installment Agreement: Defendant agrees to make monthly
payments in the agreed upon amount until fines, costs and/or
restitution are paid in full. The first payment under the agreement
shall be due the month immediately following the month in which
the application is made.

c. Community Service Agreement: Upon written request to the
Clerk of the Court by the defendant to earn credits for performance
of community service work to be applied towards fines and costs
only, hours are credited at the wage rate as set forth in Virginia
Code §19.2-354(C) and applied to a Defendant’s fines and costs
subject to the following requirements:
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i. Community Service may be performed for a governmental
agency or for a civic or charitable organization. The latter
may be a religious body or organization if the defendant so
chooses, but the defendant’s efforts must be in the form of
service work and not simply participating in worship.

ii. The defendant must not receive compensation of any nature
for the same work.

iii. The community service shall be recorded on a form
furnished by the Clerk of this Court which will require the
recordation of the dates and times when the community
service was performed, and a brief description of the work
done.

iv. The completed from shall reflect the name and address of
the agency or organization for which the community service
was performed and be signed by a representative of the
agency or organization who supervised the performance of
the community service. The completed form shall include
contact information for the supervisor, including telephone
number and address.

v. Credit toward the discharge of court costs and fines shall be
at the rate of $7.50 per hour of community service, or any
future Federal minimum wage rate set forth in the Virginia
Code.

vi. This option cannot be used to pay off restitution, however, it
can be selected along with another option above.

vii. Performing Community Service will not reduce any
collection fee assessed on defendant’s account.

viii. Effective July 1, 2020, a Defendant may receive credit for
community service hours performed for community service
work before, during, or after imprisonment.

ix. No credit for community service will be credited to a
Defendant’s account if the form is incomplete or cannot be
verified by the court clerk or their deputy clerk.

3) Defendants needing longer than thirty (30) days to pay fines and costs
owed to the court may enter into a payment plan with the court.

a. Defendants will not be required to pay a down payment for the first
payment plan entered into providing that the Defendant’s account
has not been referred to the collection process.

b. A down payment will be required if Defendant defaults on the
original payment plan and requests a new plan: a new payment
plan may be entered into providing that a down payment is made
as follows:

i. Ten percent (10%) down payment for cost and fines totaling
five hundred dollars ($500.00) or less, or
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ii. Five percent (5%) or fifty dollars ($50.00) down payment,
whichever is greater, for cost and fines totaling over five
hundred dollars ($500.00)

c. A Defendant whose fines and costs have been referred to the
collection process shall nevertheless be eligible to enter into an
initial or subsequent payment plan but is required to pay a down
payment as follows:

i. Ten percent (10%) down payment for cost and fines totaling
five hundred dollars ($500.00) or less, or

ii. Five percent (5%) or fifty dollars ($50.00) down payment,
whichever is greater, for costs and fines totaling over five
hundred dollars ($500.00)

B. An individual who does not promptly pay fines, court costs or restitution
may be subject to the following:

1) Unpaid balances are reported to the Department of Taxation for Set-off
Debt Collection; after proper notice any tax refund or lottery proceeds due
the defendant will be sent to the Clerk's Office to pay off the debt - after 90
days

2) Accrued interest on the balance due - after 40 days

3) Unpaid balances are reported to Penn Credit Collection Agency, or current
collection agency in place at the time of default - after 90 days

C. Pursuant to §19.2-353.5, an individual may apply to have the interest
removed if the following is applicable:

1) No interest shall accrue on any fines or costs imposed in a criminal case
or in a case involving a traffic infraction for a period of 40 days from the
date of final judgment imposing such a fine or costs or during any period
the defendant is incarcerated.

2) A person who owes fines and costs in which interest has accrued during a
period of incarceration may move any Court in which fines and costs are
owed to waive the interest that accrued during such period of
incarceration. To have court waive interest, Defendant must provide the
following completed forms:

a. Certificate of Incarceration Period (Form DC-366), completed by
the correction facility

b. Request for Waiver of Interest on Fines and Costs (Form
DC-366A), completed by the Defendant.

D. The Clerk's Office has no authority to change a Judge's ruling. If a
Defendant was Court-Ordered to pay a specific monthly payment amount
and can no longer pay that monthly amount, the Defendant will need to file
a Praecipe and Motion, showing just cause to change payment plan, to
place the matter on the docket to be heard by a Judge.

E. Methods and Applications of Payment
1) Online Payments
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a. Visa and Master Card -credit or debit

b. Incurs a 4% or $2 processing fee, whichever is greater pursuant to
VA Code §17.1-275(A)(27)

2) In Person Payments

a. Cash

b. Personal checks, money orders, cashier checks and certified
checks made payable to: Shenandoah County Circuit Court.
No starter checks accepted.

c. Visa and Master Card - Incurs a 4% or $2 processing fee,
whichever is greater pursuant to VA Code §17.1-275(A)(27)

3) By Mail

a. Mail to Shenandoah County Circuit Court, PO Box 406,
Woodstock, VA 22664

b. Include Defendant name and case number(s) on payment to
ensure proper credit.

- ¢. Personal checks, money orders, cashier checks and certified

checks made payable to: Shenandoah County Circuit Court.
No starter checks accepted

d. Do NOT send cash via United States Postal Serv:ce

e. A self-addressed, postage paid envelope is required if a receipt is
requested.

4) If a Defendant’s assessed costs include restitution, payments received will
be applied to restitution first until satisfied then the remaining payments
received will be applied to the court costs.

5) Pursuant to VA Code §19.2-353.3 payments associated with dishonored
checks and credit cards accounts will be assessed an additional fee of
10% with a minimum of $50.

F. Penalties for Failure to Comply with a Payment Agreement
1) The Court may issue a Capias for the Defendant’s arrest.
2) The unpaid amount shall be forwarded to Penn Credit Collections Office,
or current collection agency in place at the time of default.

ENTERED this 23" day of June, 2020. j{%

Kevin C. Black, Presiding Judge
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