VIRGINIA:
IN THE JUVENILE & DOMESTIC RELATIONS DISTRICT COURT OF CAMPBELL COUNTY

TIME-TO-PAY AND COMMUNITY SERVICE POLICY

The Campbell County Juvenile & Domestic Relations District Court Clerk’s Office offers a time-to-pay plan
as payment agreement for defendants/respondents owing court costs and/or fines. The Court also
allows fines and/or costs to be discharged through approved community service work in accordance with
this policy. Please note-costs and/or fines will continued to accrue interest until paid in full.

1) The party owing costs and/or fines may enter into an initial payment agreement allowing ninety (90)
days from the disposition of the case to make full payment. No down payment is required for this initial
plan.

2) If your sole financial resource is a Social Security benefit or Supplemental Security Income, then you
are not required to pay until you have another resource or income. As long as your sole income remains
unchanged, your account will not go to collections. Please understand that any restitution you may have
been ordered to pay is not included in this exemption of payment and is due as the court has ordered.

3) If the party defaults on the initial payment plan and requests an extension, the Court may grant a
ninety (90) day extension. A one-time service fee of $10.00 will assessed for this extension and the fee
will be added to the total costs and/or fines owed. The party requesting the extension must sign a DC-
210 form. A down payment is required by this Court upon entering an extended Time-to-Pay plan
following a default. Va. Code 19.2-354.1(1).

4) The Defendant/Respondent must appear in person at the clerk’s office window and pay a down
payment of $50 or 5% of the remaining balance (whichever amount is greater).

5) if the costs and/or fines still have not been paid within one hundred eighty (180) days of disposition of
the case, the party may again request further extension. Such requests shall be made in writing to the
court and must be accompanied by a financial statement.

6) Exceptions may be granted by the residing Judge for conditions of hardship. The Court shall take into
account the defendant’s financial resources and obligations, including fines and costs owed in other
courts.

7) Pursuant to VA Code 19.2-354(C), a defendant owing fines and/or costs to the court may discharge a
portion of fines and/or costs by earning credit for community service. The Clerk of court is authorized to
approve initial applications for entry into the program, in order to perform community service to
discharge fines and/or costs, the following program requirements must be met:

a. Community service credit is limited to one-half (1/2) of the total amount of any fines
or costs owed; the remaining half must be satisfied by monetary payment.

b. Community service cannot be used to pay restitution or guardian ad litem fees — it is

only credited to fines and/or costs owed to the court. Credit for community service may
be earned even if a restitution balance is still owed.
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Community service for credit toward fines and/or costs may only be performed only
through non-profit organizations, or, for work being done while incarcerated,
through the programs listed below at (1) in this document.

Community service shall be credited at the current Virginia minimum wage rate. For
community service performed while incarcerated, the rate of credit shall be the
current Virginia minimum wage rate minus any renumeration received by the
inmate.

The community service must be performed after the offense date(s).

The community service must be performed within one (1) year of release from
incarceration, or, if no incarceration was ordered, within one (1) year of the
sentencing date. This provision may be waived with express written permission from
the court.

Hours worked/submitted for credit in this court shall not be submitted to any other
court or jurisdiction for credit, nor shall a defendant submit any hours for credit to
this court which have preciously been submitted to or credited by another court.

A minimum of twelve (12) hours of work per calendar month is required. A
certification form (available from the clerk) must be submitted no later than 4:00
p-m. on the 7*" day of each month certifying the number of hours worked in the
previous month. Failure to submit a certification form on time may result in removal
from the program.

A defendant who has been ordered to perform community service hours as a part of
any court-ordered sentence, plea agreement, or deferred disposition shall not be
able to apply those hours toward fines and/or costs.

All work performed outside of incarceration must be documented on the forms
provided by the Clerk’s Office. The forms must be signed by a supervisor at the
organization where the work was performed. Failure to complete and/or properly
submit the minimum number of hours monthly may resuit in removal from the
program,

For work performed while incarcerated, credit will not be given if the defendant is
receiving sentence credits for such work.

For work performed while incarcerated, the defendant must submit a document
from the Department of Corrections or local/regional jail listing the total hours :
performed. Such documents must be on the agency letterhead and shall be signed |
by a person with the agency who supervised, directly or indirectly, the work. Credit
for community service performed while incarcerated is limited by [aw to those
inmates performing such work while involved with the following programs:
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VA Code 19.2-316.4 — Community Corrections Alternative Program;

VA Code 53.1-59 - State prisoners working for localities;

VA Code 53.1-60 - Prison work release outside prison;

VA Code 53.1-128 — County workforces;

VA Code 53.1-129 — Court-ordered workforces;

VA Code 53.1-131 — Court ordered work release of “rehabilitative programs designed
to supplement work release: from jails.

In addition to this application form, the Clerk may also require completion of a
sworn Financial Statement (Form DC-333) if a recent statement is not included in the
case file.

Any false information provided to the Court is punishable as contempt of court
and/or Forgery of a Public Document (a Class 4 felony, punishable by a maximum of
ten (10) years imprisonment).

Requests to re-enter the program after removal are granted in the sole discretion of
the Presiding Judge. Exceptions to this policy are in the sole discretion of the
Presiding Judge.



