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PAYMENT PLAN POLICY EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 1, 2024
Virginia Code §19.2-354; §19.2-354.1; Rule 1:24

Fines and court costs are due on the date of conviction. If unable to pay on the date of conviction, the
defendant will have ninety (90) days to pay the amount owed. If the amount owed is not paid in full within
ninety (90) days, the account will be referred to collection and a collection fee will be imposed. Interest will
accrue on any unpaid balance of 180 days after conviction.

If more than ninety (90) days is needed to pay, defendant may enter into a payment agreement, form DC-
21. No down payment will be requested for the initial payment agreement; however, a one-time account
management fee of $10.00 will be assessed. By signing the agreement, the defendant acknowledges the
terms of the payment agreement and what occurs if he/she defaults on the agreement.

Subsequent payment extensions may be granted. The defendant must apply for the extended payment plan
before any existing payment plan ends.

Should default occur on any condition of a payment plan, the payment plan will be terminated. A request
for a payment plan following default will be considered by the court and if approved a down payment will
be required as follows:

For balances of $500.00 or less, 10% of the amount owed
For balances over $500.00, 5% of the amount owed or $50.00 whichever is greater.

Upon the filing of a motion by the defendant, the Court may consider and approve the defendant being able
to satisfy his/her court costs and fines through participation in the Fine Option Community Service Program
monitored by the Office of the Adult Court Services. Community service can not be applied to restitution.
To apply to perform community service you must submit a motion to the Court. If approved by the Court,
community service must be performed within the time period and at the rate provided in the plan. Credit
will be applied at the minimum wage in Virginia. At the time of approval of the Fine Option Plan, you must
sign form DC-210, Time to Pay Agreement. If the defendant’s sole financial resource is a Social Security
benefit or Supplemental Security Income, such defendant shall be exempt from making payments until he
has another source of income and, if such defendant notifies the court that his sole financial resource is a
Social Security benefit or Supplemental Security Income, the case shall not be referred to collections.
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