LOUISA COUNTY JUVENILE AND DOMESTIC RELATIONS DISTRICT COURT
TIME TO PAY POLICY

Virginia Code Section 19.2-354 grants the Court the authority to establish a payment plan for individuals
owing court fines and/or costs.

Defendants unable to pay the total balance due within ninety (90) days of disposition of the case, may
request a Time to Pay (TTP) agreement be established with the Court. A TTP agreement will allow the
defendant to request additional time in order to pay the Court the monies owed. A one-time fee of
$10.00 will be assessed upon entrance into a payment plan with the Court. If the defendant has
multiple cases which were finalized at the same time, only one $10.00 fee will be assessed.

Each defendant is required to complete a Financial Statement (DC333) to determine his/or her specific
financial conditions before determining the frequency and amount of installment payments. It is the
responsibility of the defendant to notify Louisa County Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court
staff of any unpaid fines and costs owed to more than one court upon entrance into a payment plan so
the Court can take into consideration the financial conditions of the defendant and their ability to pay. If
the defendant owes restitution and fines/or costs, payments shall be applied to the restitution first.

TTP will be limited to 6 months to pay during which time all fines and costs will be due in full. An
additional TTP may be granted, PROVIDED:

1. Adown payment is paid toward the fines and/or costs. Pursuant to VA Code Section 19.2-
354.1, if the fines are $500.00 or less, than 10% of the fines and/or costs are owed. If the
fines and/or costs are over $500.00, then 5% of the fines and costs or $50.00 (whichever is
greater) are owed.

2. Regular monthly payments have been made

Monthly installments are required

4. Failure to make a monthly payment will result in the full amount becoming due and payable.
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An additional TTP may be granted, PROVIDED:

One-half of the remaining balance of fines and/or costs is paid

Regular monthly payments have been made

Monthly installments are required

Failure to make a monthly payment will result in the full amount becoming due and payable

il A

Any defendant who enters into a TTP shall promptly inform this Court of any change of mailing address
during the term of the TTP.



GUARDIAN AD LITEM FEES

The Judge has the discretion to give the parties time to pay their GAL
assessment based on the parties’ Financial Statements (DC533) filed with the
court. If a party is asking for an extension the party will need to file a request
with the Clerk’s Office for review by the Judge for approval for an extension.

This policy is effective January 1, 2019 and will be posted in the Clerk’s
Office and also provided to the Office of the Executive Secretary of the Supreme
Court of Virginia to be included on the court’s website.

Enter: 01/01/2019

Deborah S. Tinsley, Judge



