Patrick County Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court
Payment Agreement Policy

The following Payment Agreement Policy has been adopted effective July 1, 2024 in accordance with Section 19.2-354
and 19.1-354.1 of the Code of Virginia, Rule 1:24 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, and the
recommendations of the Office of the Executive Secretary.

Initial Assessments:

Court fines and costs are due within 30 days of assessment/sentencing. Any defendant who is unable to pay the fines
and costs within 30 days of assessment/sentencing may request to enter into a payment agreement with no down-
payment being required. The defendant shall have the opportunity to enter into either a deferred payment agreement?,
a modified deferred payment agreement?, or an installment payment agreement®. A fee of $10.00 will be assessed upon
entering into the payment plan. If you pay your fines and costs in full within 90 days of assessment, the $10.00 time to
fee that was originally assessed will be removed from your account.

Defaulted Accounts:
If you have unpaid fines and costs that have defaulted and want to enter into a payment agreement to remove the
suspension of your driving privileges, you may fill out form DC-211 Petition For Payment Agreement For Fines And Costs
Or Request To Modify Existing Agreement. The Court will require you to pay a down-payment as follows:
o |If the fines and costs owed are $500.00 or less, the required down payment may not exceed 10% of the
amount owed.
e If the fines and costs owed are more than $500.00, the required down payment may not exceed 5% of
the amount owed or $50.00, whichever is greatest.
You will be assessed a one-time $10.00 time to pay fee if it had not been previously assessed on the outstanding
account.
All fines and costs subject to the collection process may be incorporated into one payment agreement, unless otherwise
ordered by the Court in specific cases.
The defendant shall immediately provide the Court with written notice of any change of address during the deferred
period.

Community Service in Lieu of Fines and Costs:

If a defendant requests to perform community service in lieu of payment for fines/costs, the request must be made to
the clerk’s office and the community service must be performed at an approved non-profit organization. Such service
shall be performed with a period of time approved and monitored by the Court upon completion of a DC-210 with the
clerk’s office. Community service will be credited upon completion at a rate of the Federal Hourly Minimum Wage per
hour rate.

Any person owing restitution, interest on restitution, Guardian ad Litem or any collection fee is not eligible for
community service.

Financial Resource:

Your fines and costs equal $ . If your sole financial resource is a Social Security benefit or Supplemental
Security income, then you are not required to pay until you have another resource or income. As long as your soie
income remains unchanged, your account will not go to collections. Please understand that any restitution you may
have been ordered to pay is not included in this exemption of payment and is due as the court has ordered.

1A “deferred payment agreement” is defined in Supreme Court of Virginia Rule 1:24 as “an agreement in which no instaliments are
required, and the defendant agrees to pay the full amount of the fines and costs at the end of the agreement’s stated term.

A “modified deferred payment agreement” is defined in Supreme Court of Virginia Rule 1:24 as “a deferred payment agreement in
which the defendant also agrees to use best efforts to make monthly or other periodic payments.

3 An “installment payment agreement” is defined in Supreme Court of Virginia Rule 1:24 as “a plan in which the defendant agrees to
make monthly or other periodic payments until the fines and costs are paid in full.
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