Prince William County
Juvenile and Domestic Relations
District Court

Payment Agreements Policy Statement

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 19.2-354 of the 1950 Code of
Virginia, this Court AUTHORIZES the Clerk to establish and approve individual
payment agreements in accordance with established guidelines approved by the
Court. Contact the Clerk’s Office at telephone number (703) 792-6160 for
additional information.

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 19.2-354.1 of the 1950 Code of
Virginia, when a defendant is ordered to pay fines and costs and is unable to
pay within 30 days from the date of conviction, or other disposition date, there
will be an opportunity to enter into one of three (3) types of payment plans:

(1) Deferred Payment Plan - A defendant agrees to pay the full amount
amount of fines and costs at the end of its stated term, and no
installment payments are required.

(2) Modified Deferred Plan - A defendant agrees to use best efforts to
make monthly or periodic payments.

(3) Installment Plan — A defendant agrees to make monthly or other
periodic payments until fines and costs are fully paid.

In addition to the payment plans referenced above there may be an option
to participate in the Community Service Program to discharge fines and costs.

Effective July 1, 2017
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PRINCE WILLIAM COUNTY
JUVENILE AND DOMESTIC RELATIONS
DISTRICT COURT

SUBJECT:
Payment Agreements for Fines and Costs, Restitution; Request to
Modify Existing Payment Agreement; and Community Service

GOAL:
To comply with Virginia Code §§ 19.2-354 and 19.2-354.1

GUIDELINES:

(A) Time to Pay Payment Agreements Authorized by Clerk:

e The Clerk is authorized to establish and approve deferred payment
agreements for up to 90 days.

e To initiate a payment agreement for up to 90 days, Part | of an
Acknowledgement of Suspension or Revocation of Driver’s License
(form DC-210) will be completed. If the defendant owes fines and costs
on multiple cases, the total amount owed can be incorporated into one
payment agreement. List each case number separately on the form.

e The Deputy Clerk will review Part | of the Acknowledgement of Suspension
or Revocation of Driver’s License (form DC-210) for accuracy and witness the
defendant’s signature.

 The Deputy Clerk will complete Part 1l of the Acknowledgement of Suspension
or Revocation of Driver’s License (form DC-210) and establish and approve the
payment agreement.

e Provide the defendant with a copy of the completed DC-210 form.

« Do not assess a time to pay fee.

e Update the Financial Accounting System (FAS) with the new due date.




(8) Time to Pay Payment Agreements:

 Time to Pay Payment Agreements more than 90 days, or to modify an
existing payment agreement will be established and authorized by
a judge.

 Toinitiate a payment agreement for more than 90 days Part | of an
Acknowledgement of Suspension or Revocation of Driver’s License
(form DC-210) will be completed. If the defendant owes fines and costs
on multiple cases, the total amount can be incorporated into one payment
agreement. List each case number separately on the form.

o The defendant must also complete a Petition for Payment Agreement for
Fines and Costs/Financial Statement (form DC-211) for the judge to assess the
defendant’s ability to pay.

e The Deputy Clerk will review Part | of the Acknowledgement of Suspension
or Revocation of Driver’s License (form DC-210), and the Petition for Payment
Agreement for Fines and Costs (form DC-211) for accuracy and witness the
defendant’s signature on each form.

e Itis recommended the defendant present a summary prepared by DMV
of other courts in which the defendant owes fines and costs.

e The request for Time to Pay Payment Agreement will be handled administratively
by any judge that is available to consider the request.

e Once the judge has addressed the request and authorized the payment agreement,
the Deputy Clerk will provide the defendant with a copy of the completed DC-210
form.

Request to Modify an Existing Payment Agreement:

e Same requirements as noted above apply. NOTE - If a payment agreement was
entered into in court at the time of trial or disposition, the request will be
considered a subsequent modification of the existing payment agreement.

e The judge will complete the Order portion of the Petition for Payment Agreement for
Fines and Costs or Request to Modify Existing Agreement form (DC-211) and the
Order for Payment Agreement on the Acknowledgement of Suspension or Revocation
of Driver’s License (form DC-210).

e A down payment of 10% is required when fines and costs owed are $500 or less.




A down payment of 5% or $50 whichever is greater when the fines and costs
owed are more than $500 is required.

Once the judge has addressed the request and authorized the payment agreement,
the Deputy Clerk will provide the defendant with a copy of the completed DC-210
form.

Assess the $10 time to pay fee (137) ONLY on or after day 91.

The Deputy Clerk will collect the required down payment from the defendant and
update the Financial Accounting System (FAS) with the new due date.

(C) Request to Participate in Community Service Program:

o Complete Part | of the Acknowledgement of Suspension or Revocation of
Driver’s License (form DC-210) and the Petition for Payment Agreement of
Fines and Costs or Request to Modify Existing Agreement (form DC-211).

« The Deputy Clerk will review Part | of the Acknowledgement of Suspension
or Revocation of Driver’s License (form DC-210) and the Petition for Payment
Agreement of Fines and Costs or Request to Modify Existing Agreement
for accuracy and witness the defendant’s signature on both forms

e The DC-210 and DC-211 will serve as the motion and a court date will be set
to appear in court. Generate a Notice of Hearing to give to the defendant
and have the defendant sign the court copy acknowledging it. NOTE: Schedule
the motion timely on the court docket.

Approved: .
Lisa M. Baird
Chief Judge
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